Happy Things

Boy, did I wake up in a foul mood. Yesterday’s disappointments still lingering in my mind. I was in a sour mood while driving to school, in lab, and even up until lunchtime. But after having one my favorite extra large salads from my favorite small-town deli, I wasn’t that frustrated anymore.

“It is what it is.”

I can’t change anything about what I’m doing. I feel like I’m giving my best at school, and I’ll just have to take that for what it is. For some reason, my teachers and I don’t click this semester. I can’t seem to give them what they are looking for, but I’m done with it. And I can’t lie and say that I haven’t wanted to quit, because I so have. I think of it almost every hour on the hour. But I’m not a quitter. And if I have to take these two classes again, then so be it.

Moving on!

So after I inhaled my ginormous salad, I started mentally listing things that are making me happy right now. And I wanted to share that list with you 🙂

1 -Good music to listen to while making the trek to school:  Langhorn Slim’s CD “The Way We Move”, any and all Avett Brothers CD’s, She & Him 

     

(source)   This CD is so fun! There isn’t any banjo but that’s OK. Langhorn Slim has a really unique singing voice and I love it. Jason introduced to me his music about a month ago, and I’m so glad he did. Since I spend most of my time driving it’s definitely a necessity to have good music on to make it less of a chore. Especially since it takes me an hour to get to school! Avett Brothers are still, by far, my favorite, but it’s nice to have some new stuff. And She & Him? Yes, please!

2- Less gloss, more stain

Lip gloss and I have just not been getting along lately. It stays on my lips for maybe 10 minutes and then is gone. I’ve been looking for a more permanent lip color for the wedding, one that would last even after our first kiss as husband and wife, and hopefully into the night! I found it!

NYC LipStain in Champagne. It is da bomb. It’s almost like a marker, but for my lips 🙂 I can put this on early in the morning before class, and it will still be on my lips at 5 when Jason comes through the door! It also is a naturally pink color too, nothing to dark. I appreciate a natural-looking color without any color, my lips tend to get a bit bluish looking. The only hangup I have about this product is that when it’s on- it’s on. It doesn’t rub off easily. The first time I tried it I was in a moving car. Not a good idea. I accidentally went outside of my lip line and it didn’t come off easily. This stuff dries super fast!

3- I finally spotted a female Eastern Towhee at the park yesterday! 
(It looks like this)

Adult female

Towhee’s are not easily seen because they like to stay hidden in branches and undergrowth. In my short bird-watching “career”, I have seen a few male Towhee’s…they are easily identifiable because of their dark, contrasting colors:

Adult male

Both male and females are not usually out in the open like cardinals and robins are (in this area). I did get lucky this past winter though! I was sitting on my couch drinking tea and bird-watching. I had learned the birds feeding schedule in my area, and knew they would be out scratching in our yard any minute. It was 9 a.m. Finally, one by one they come until there is a whole group of them fluttering around. There were the common, everyday birds, and then Jason said “What’s that one?”. It was a male Towhee! Right there among the cardinals and wrens! That was the second time I ever saw one. I also spotted a few chickadees and a brown thrasher the next day! That was kind of weird..it looked like a shore bird in my front yard but after doing some research, I realized it was just stopping by on it’s way to a warmer state…

Speaking of birds…

4- These cute bird clips I found at Dollar Tree!

DSCN5917

Our wedding is bird-themed and my original use for these clips was this: We have about 25 photos of use as kids and teenagers and babies, etc…that we want to display at the wedding. I was going to get some strong wire or thick twine to create a sort of clothesline photo album and use these birds to clip the photos in place, however, we don’t have a table to put this on or post to hold it up. Suggestions? We also have recycled wine bottles that I’m sure I can do something with!

5- Mar-dog: Learning her personality 

DSCN5912

 

It took a week for Marley to eat or walk somewhere without having her tail stuck in between her legs. The first time I took her to the park, she would cower down to the ground at anyone who would walk past…she would then try to make a bee-line back to the car as quickly as possible. Now that it’s been about 3 weeks, her personality is starting to shine through! This dog loves to cuddle. She is the cuddle-queen. She will jump on the couch, nestle in right between Jason and I, and put her head on my lap. Also, when I sometimes lay down in the afternoons, she’ll run into the bedroom, jump on the bed and lay right up against me with her head on my shoulder. I love her. She also loves to play ball, chew on her toy sheep and eat only when someone is in the room with her. She’s an awesome dog.

Speaking of dogs…

6- This painting of my late dog, Trixie.

DSCN5886

My friend, Denisse, was with me when I got the news that Trixie was dying. She offered to paint a portrait of her and of course I said ‘Yes!”. I can’t believe how much I love the finished product. Not only is it one of the sweetest things that anyone has ever done for me, but every time I walk by it, I think of Trixie when she was a happy dog. She spent her last week with us in a sickly state and I don’t like to think of her like that. This painting shows the happy, smiley dog that I want to remember. It’s one of the most treasured items in my house.

7- Daydreaming about our wedding and saying our vows to each other. 

Another thing I do on the drive to school! Wish I could share my wedding dress and all that, but we shall keep that secret until the big day! Only 6 more weeks!! Yippee!

8- David Attenborough’s “The Life of Birds” documentary

(source) It’s available on instant Netflix! There is also “The Life of Mammals” on instant. I’m watching that next 🙂

9-My church peeps.

They are always there for me, speaking encouragement to me..listening to me whine about all things wedding or school, ready to give me a hug when I need it. And they all love God. Their hearts show it. I love having them in my life and consider them my family!

10- Jason.

DSCN5757

I can’ t wait to marry this man. He makes cookies when I don’t feel like baking. He cleans up after dinner. He reads marriage books with me, and does the exercises without complaining. He gets takeout when I don’t feel like cooking. He asks me what I’m reading. He holds my hand while we watch Big Bang Theory together. He puts fake bugs in the bed to scare me. He’s the icing to my cake, the cheese to my macaroni, the fork to my spoon. He’s the best!

I could be his wife All. Day. all DAY. 

Yeah, son.

Leave a Reply

