3 Week Crossfit Challenge- Day 1

I can’t fit into my wedding dress. I saw this coming though. That’s why I left it in alterations two weeks past the date that I was supposed to pick it up…deep down I knew the stupid thing wouldn’t zip.

And Jason would argue that I’m more muscular then I was three months ago when I had my first fitting, but I know what it really is. The cookies. The banana bread that I eat for every meal/snack of the day…Arg! Why must I be cursed with this sweet tooth?! It’s my fault really,  I’ve let it just take over my mouth. Like it’s in charge. I used to be satisfied with one dark chocolate square after dinner, but know I want the whole darn bar. Someone help me.

Anywho, I was thinking of my workout plan for the week yesterday when an idea struck me.

  1. I’m getting tired of my usual 3 days cardio, 2 days weight-lifting schedule
  2. I need actual measurements and numbers to achieve to really get my butt into gear
  3. I stalk all of my Facebook friends that Crossfit and seriously long for that type of workout.

I. love. challenge. I thrive in challenge. The worst thing someone can tell me is that I can’t do something…just watch me! 🙂

As I was thinking over all of these factors, I thought: “Why not do Crossfit? It’s not like their workouts are a secret, they post them on their website daily!”

Um, great idea, self! And so I am 🙂 For the next three weeks, I will be doing the (Charlotte) Crossfit WOD’s (workout-of-the-day) with one day of rest. Of course, being at my gym and not theirs, I will have to modify, but I will record that in my daily record.

I plan on blogging every day, not only the workouts but the things I’m eating and how I’m feeling. I will also keep track of my measurements and weight. At the end of the three weeks, I hope to have lost the 3-5 lbs. I need to lose to fit back into my dress (comfortably!).

I also created a fitness test before starting this so I will have some way to test strength/speed at the end of the 3 weeks. Here are my starting-out numbers:

Fitness Test (1min)

400m run

Burpees

Pushups

Situps

Time

2 min 37 sec

12

28

25

Beginning weight and measurements:

Weight

Bust

Waist

Hip

121.6

35.5 inches

31.5 inches

39 inches

And a before pic just for comparison later on:

DSCN5971

 

Going into the Crossfit workout, it seemed very short to me and I initially planned on doing more cardio after the exercises. Um, yeah right! Today, I realized they are short for a reason. Oh my word, it was tough. Here is the WOD:

Capture

 

It was kind of a hassle to do this at the gym. I kept having to walk to the different areas for each exercise, and 2/5 times, there wasn’t a squat machine available so I had to modify. I tried to keep it as close to the WOD as possible. Here is what I ended up doing, modifications and all:

5 rounds of time of:

  • 15 Back squats (3 of those completed with 90 pounds on squat machine…the other two times completed with 90 lbs. on seated leg press)
  • 15 Hanging leg raises
  • 15 Kettleball swings, using 10 lbs. the first time to make sure I could lift it..then 15 lbs. the other 4 turns.
  • 2 mile speed work- alternating between sprinting and comfortable pace every 1/4 mile. Completed in 19 min 55 sec.
  • 4 minute plank hold, 20 second rest between each minute

I spoke with my Crossfit friend and she said the workouts are typically completed in 15-20 minutes. I completed the workout (minus the two mile run, which I accidentally had written down from another WOD!) in 23 minutes and 54 seconds.

I hope my time improves as I continue on! I can’t believe how hard the kettleballs were. The first round didn’t feel hard at all, I was actually thinking of increasing the weight. The second round is when it started to burn. I walked as fast as I could to the other areas and used that as my “rest” period. This workout was awesome though! I’m proud of myself for finishing the swings on the fifth round, by then I was so exhausted! And and I squatted 90 pounds today! That’s so awesome! My usual squat weight is 45-50! I’m so proud 🙂

Eats

Breakfast:

Green smoothie (spinach, almond milk, banana, vanilla extract, ice, 2 tbsp. pb)

Snack:

Handful of almonds, two dried apricots, more almonds during Bio

Lunch: 

Leftover baked beans, leftover veggies and dip, dark chocolate square

Dinner:

Stir Fry! (mushrooms, zucchini, squash, asparagus, brown rice, soy sauce, kidney beans, other seasonings…) Dark chocolate square to top it off 🙂

DSCN5969

 

I’m stuffed, super tired, and feel like I may be extremely sore tomorrow or the next day, but I love it. It felt so good to do something different and to have other workout motivation factors today. I went into that gym with a mission, by golly! Mission accomplished 😀

Here’s to tomorrow! 

Xoxo,

Stacey

Leave a Reply

